Officers

Dr. Emmanuel Brunet-Jailly

Dr. Emmanuel Brunet-Jailly

President

Professor
School of Public Administration
University of Victoria
Victoria, BC, CANADA

e: 
p: +1-250-721-6418
w: about Emmanuel

Dr. Jussi Laine

Dr. Jussi Laine

President Elect

Assistant Professor, Docent
Karelian Institute, University of Eastern Finland
Joensuu, Finland

p: +358 50 433 8252
e: jussi.laine@uef.fi

Dr. Naomi Chi

Dr. Naomi Chi

First Vice President

Assistant Professor
Graduate School of Public Policy
Hokkaido University
Sapporo, Japan

e: n_chi@hops.hokudai.ac.jp 
w: about Naomi

Dr. Francisco Lara-Valencia

Dr. Francisco Lara-Valencia

Past President

Associate Professor
School of Transborder Studies
Arizona State University
Tempe, AZ, USA

e: francisco.lara@asu.edu
p: +1-480-965-9179
w: about Francisco

Board of Directors

Dr. Tony Payan

Dr. Tony Payan

Board of Directors: 2016-2019

Baker Institute at Rice University
Houston, TX, USA

Universidad Autónoma de Ciudad Juárez (UACJ)
Ciudad Juárez, Chihuahua, México

e: tony.payan@rice.edu

Dr. Chiara Brambilla

Dr. Chiara Brambilla

Board of Directors: 2016-2019

University of Bergamo
Bergamo, BG, Italy

e: chiara.brambilla@unibg.it

Dr. Lya Margarita Niño Contreras

Dr. Lya Margarita Niño Contreras

Board of Directors: 2016-2019

Universidad Autónoma de Baja California (UABC)
Mexicali, B.C., México

e: lnino@uabc.edu.mx

Dr. Élisabeth Vallet

Dr. Élisabeth Vallet

Board of Directors: 2017-2020

Université du Québec à Montréal

Montréal, Québec, Canada

e: vallet.elisabeth@uqam.ca

Dr. Katarzyna Stokłosa

Dr. Katarzyna Stokłosa

Board of Directors: 2017-2020

University of Southern Denmark
Odense, Denmark

e: stoklosa@sam.sdu.dk

Dr. Todd Hataley

Dr. Todd Hataley

Board of Directors: 2017-2020

Royal Military College of Canada
Ontario, Canada

e: todd.hataley@gmail.com

Dr. James Gerber

Dr. James Gerber

Board of Directors 2018-2021

San Diego State University
San Diego, California, USA

e: jgerber@sdsu.edu
w: about James

Dr. Willie Aziegbe Eselebor

Dr. Willie Aziegbe Eselebor

Board of Directors: 2018-2021

Institute for Peace and Strategic
Studies
University of Ibadan
Ibadan, Nigeria

p: +2348090722006
e: wa.eselebor@ui.edu.ng & willivizz@gmail.com
w: about Willie

Dr. Edward Boyle

Dr. Edward Boyle

Board of Directors: 2018-2021

Assistant Professor
Kyushu University
Fukuoka, Japan

e: tedkboyle@gmail.com

Journal of Borderland Studies

Dr. Christophe Sohn

Dr. Christophe Sohn

Co-Editor in Chief

Senior Researcher
Luxembourg Institute of Socio-Economic Research (LISER)
Esch-sur-Alzette, Luxembourg

e: christophe.sohn@liser.lu

Dr. Sergio Peña

Dr. Sergio Peña

Co-Editor in Chief

Associate Professor
Urban and Environmental Studies Department
El Colegio de la Frontera Norte
Tijuana, Baja California, Mexico

e: spena@colef.mx

Executive Secretary and Treasurer

Dr. Francisco Lara-Valencia

Dr. Francisco Lara-Valencia

Past-President

Associate Professor
School of Transborder Studies
Arizona State University
Tempe, AZ, USA

e: francisco.lara@asu.edu
p: +1-480-965-9179
w: about Francisco

Questions or concerns?

Please email absborderlands@asu.edu for assistance.